The Sealed in Time collection

Sealed in Time offers vintage goods in handmade frames. Kris Roach, 26, barters for collectables and then seal waxes them before framing. Following in his fathers footsteps, Kris has had a passion for vintage from a young age, after attending markets with his father, who collected oil lamps and venison glass. A bit of a different story, we asked Kris a few questions.

A Sealed in Time collectable, frame black with trademark seal wax (photo courtesy of Kris Roach)

A Sealed in Time collectable, frame black with trademark seal wax (photo courtesy of Kris Roach)

1. What is Sealed in Time all about?

I love the idea that vintage pieces hold so much history, that is why I began Sealed in Time, which is essentially named after the wax seal I use. I sell my vintage range through Happy Days at The Barn in Ogmore by Sea and Llantrisant Gallery. My trademark is a “K” after my name Kris, each collectable item has one. By day I am a retail manager, so unfortunately it isn’t full time yet!

2. Why is vintage your passion?

From a young age I’ve been attending car-boot sales, markets and antique fairs. My father collected oil lamps and venison glass. But it all started for me when I found a hand-shaped record in Splott Market, by the band China Crisis. This is what triggered my obsession. If anything vinyl looked a bit different, whether in its shape or colour I would buy it. I began to buy and sell and eventually began to collect, my knowledge of antique and vintage began to grow and my love for vintage collectables began! Even though a 6am start in Welsh weather was hard on a Sunday morning, breakfast from a burger van become the norm and it has always been worth it. I love discovering my next find and bartering down the next seller.

Framed Marilyn Monroe by Sealed in time (photo courtesy of Kris Roach)

Framed Marilyn Monroe by Sealed in time (photo courtesy of Kris Roach)

 3. Do you have a favourite vintage item? 

Yes, I love my Marilyn Monroe picture records, especially the PlayBoy shot! My earlier love was a HMV gramophone, however, sadly I made the decision to sell it!

4. Are you working on any interesting commissions at the moment?

Yes, Matt Pritchard from Dirty Sanchez is currently having a custom frame for his new business venture made. I am planning to reveal it this weekend.

5. Would you like to expand Sealed in Time in the future?

Yes, with collectable vintage wall art. I have a distaste for these generic re-print canvases of stamps and records. I sell vintage framed collectables, each wax sealed in a black frame. So why not buy the real thing that looks just as smart? I also sell poison bottle frames as they are different and so interesting, if only vintage items could talk!

Framed poison bottle with wax seal by Sealed in Time (photo courtesy of Kris Roach)

Framed poison bottle with wax seal by Sealed in Time (photo courtesy of Kris Roach)

He ends with a word of advice: “People should think vintage before they think new! A gift is so much more interesting, whether it be a piece of art, furniture, clothing or jewellery, if it has survived years of stories.”

You can find Kris and Sealed on Time on twitter for updates on his recent commissions, events and whereabouts!

One thought on “The Sealed in Time collection

Leave a Reply

